Finals and a very late November Wrap-Up

 

DSCN0327

                                                                                       Beautiful L.A. Beach Day

I’ve been away for what feels like awhile. I had a ton of things come up. I wrapped up finals, and celebrated the end of what I have dubbed the semester from hell. I mean every semester feels hellish when you’re in it right? But this one felt particularly brutal. Then I got a bit sick which kept me in bed most days. Now I have to prepare myself to brave the last minute Christmas shopping. Joy.

Now I finally have time to read again. Not that not having time stopped me before, but  now I don’t have to feel guilty, or stop myself because I have to get back to a dry twenty page paper. Time to be lazy. Time to make a dent in my Netflix queue. Apply for internships.  Enjoy the rare rainy days in L.A. Take more walks. Maybe go somewhere who knows. Well at least till January, then I will start my final semester. I’m nervous and anxious but mostly excited. I’m tired of being a student.

I hope I can catch up on book reviews I’ve been neglecting to do those. I’ve been reading, but due to a previously mentioned twenty page research paper, plus other papers, presentations and such, I’ve been a bit drained. Which has been making me sluggish in all things. I wrote a book review for Looking for Alibrandi ,a book I really enjoyed, yet when I started editing it, I realized I didn’t like what I had written and then deleted it. I’ve been doing that a lot lately with stories or poems. I spend all this time on something, then I delete it.  I can be a bit of a perfectionist. Even with the small stuff which is a good trait to have, but also annoying especially when applying it to a hobby. So I hope I can get back to writing those and posting them on here for you kind souls who take the time to read them. I appreciate it.

Lastly here is a very belated November wrap up. Just wanted to keep the flow going with these.I’m not doing any summaries this time around. I enjoyed all them for the most part, except for The Raven Boys

82436Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta 

16248114Maya’s Notebook by Isabel Allende

15798757Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

887877Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

12600138Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

760  Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

 

2187Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenidies

17675462The Raven Boys By Maggie Steifvater

561456The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Thanks for reading!

-Ana

2 thoughts on “Finals and a very late November Wrap-Up

  1. Damn girl that’s a ton of books for one month, haha. Love Marquez, love Eugenides. I kind of miss being a student because I used to read like 10-15 books in a three month period, and now I read like…5-6. It’s a blessing in disguise!

    • Haha I didn’t even have the to read half of those books, but I tend to get a bit crazy when I don’t read, and I’m writing super boring papers. Everyone keeps telling me that I’ll miss student life, and I’m sure I will miss it. But since I’m in the thick of it, I kind of just want to see what else there is to life. I’m sure I’ll look back at this in a year and regret that I wanted it to be over so fast!

Leave a Reply

