New Year’s Goals: Books and Blog

Unknown

I started this blog in September and I started it because I wanted to have my little corner where I could talk about books, writing, and anything I felt like. I’m glad I  started it. I’ve discovered some like minded bookies out there and that alone has made it worth it.

I have plans for this blog in 2014. I want to make a schedule and keep it. I’m thinking at least a post every Wednesday. I know there might  weeks where that won’t be possible because next semester is my last. However, I plant to stick to that schedule as best I can.  I rarely make new year’s resolutions.  I like to think that if I want to make changes in my life I’ll just start at the moment I make my decision. Why wait for a specific day? However, I’m writing down a list this year. I don’t think of them as resolutions so much as goals and accomplishments. They are designed to be something to look forward to and keep me motivated.

I always give myself a challenge with books. Mostly it involves an amount and perhaps a genre. My goal for this year was 80 books. Ten more than last year. I surprised myself in finishing 119 books this year.  It helps of course that I am an English major, but still many of the books I read were entirely for enjoyment.

I also wanted to read more fantasy outside of YA, and I accomplished that goal.  I have a new found love for it, and tons more books on my list. Some of my favorites this year: The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning,  The Gentlemen Bastards Series by Scott Lynch, and The Sea Beggars by Paul Kearney. It’s been a blast discovering this genre.

Some Goals  for 2014

  1. Read 100 Books. It’s a challenge, but I did it this year, so I know I can!
  2. Write More. (Very Important)
  3. Try to Review every Book I read. (Or at least share thoughts)
  4. Post once a week.
  5. Explore my city’s bookstores and libraries more.
  6. Read more nonfiction
  7. Read more Sci-fi.
  8. Abandon books  if I’m not enjoying them.
  9. Always remember to have fun.

I will also be participating in the Electric Reader Challenge. More on that in my next post as well as my top 5 books of 2013.

So that wraps this up. I am hopeful for 2014. It’s been fun having this blog and interacting with some of you. I’ll be ringing in the new year with my loved ones and my twelve grapes. Let’s see what 2014 has in store for me.

Cheers to 2014!

-Anasylvia

Leave a Reply

