Book Thoughts: Angelfall

ange

I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues, But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man.

I enjoyed this one so much and I don’t even know where to start. The other day my friend mentioned that she might take a break from YA for a bit because she couldn’t deal with all the angst among other issues she found with the genre. I had been experiencing the same thing with most of the YA books I’ve been reading lately being total flops, agreed with her. Then comes Angelfall and it reminds me that there are still some great gems in the genre and to keep the faith.

Penryn Young’s world has gone to the dogs…or I should say Angels. She, her younger sister Paige, and her mother struggle to stay alive in their post-apocalyptic nightmare where beautiful and deadly Angels plague the skies.

I’m Penryn. I’m named after an exit off interstate 80.

Our lead heroine is Penryn a great female character. She has goals and she sticks to them, and she doesn’t let her resolve falter at the first sign of a pretty face. I realized something unusual while I was coming to the end of this book, I have no idea what she looks like. It might have been mentioned, and I just glossed right over it, but I was glad that it wasn’t mentioned repeatedly throughout the novel. Are we reaching the point where the appearance of the female lead doesn’t matter in a novel? I hope so.

As for the romance, (if it can be called that at this point) was perfectly done to my taste. Sprinkled in with a little bit of grit, and the promise of more. I absolutely loath insta-love and was very pleased to find none of it here. Raffe is intriguing and funny. Not so much of an Alpha by my standards, or maybe he is and I’m simply biased because I now compare every man in literature and real life to Jericho Barrons. However, he takes charge when he needs to, doesn’t coddle Penryn, and has some wicked cool tricks up his sleeve.

What I also really loved was the humor in the book. The twins, the fight scenes, the banter between Raffe and Penryn it just all brought a smile to my face. The world building is great. Susan Ee has done a great job of setting the tone for the future books to follow. I cannot wait for World After!

4 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: Angelfall

    • Yes, I agree this is so much than Divergent. I read Divergent awhile back, and I like it then,but wasn’t 100% invested enough to keep up with the sequels. I hear nothing but good things about WorldAfter, so I’m very excited!

      • Yea my friends all say it just keeps getting better which makes me happy! I plan on getting to it as soon as I’ve knocked out a few of the books I’m currently reading.

Leave a Reply

