Book Thoughts: Mine Until Midnight

mine

Thanks to my lovely friends who recommended this book to me, and especially thanks to my BR buddies Cam and Dulce. I enjoyed this book more because of you ladies:)

I don’t believe in fate,” she said. “People are in control of their own destinies

I do enjoy romance in books, but I’ve never been a huge fan of pure romance, certainly not the Lovey Dovey “I just met you but lets get married” kind. I’ve always said that I like my romance with some grit, I like a slow build. HR is not particularly known for that, so I’ve always stirred clear of it. However,Mine Till Midnight has me singing a different tune now, and may have something to do with a certain hazel eyed gentlemen.

Amelia Hathaway is the eldest sister of the Hathaway family. The family has recently run into a bit of bad luck thanks to their inheritance of the Ramsay title. Instead of this bringing them good fortune and the solution to their problems, it brings them nothing but more misfortune. Amelia assumes the position of head of the family since her older brother Leo is lost in his own desolation and destructive behavior to be of any real help. With the help of Merripen, a gypsy who was rescued by the family as a boy, and is like a brother to the Hathaways, Amelia tries to navigate the chaos that is her life.

In enters Cam Rohan, a half gypsy half irish all parts intriguing man who makes Amelia feel and do things that her carefully controlled nature has never allowed her to do before.

I loved Amelia from the beginning and related to her so well. She is fierce and independent and tries to solve her own problems before ever asking for help. She takes initiative and doesn’t wait around for a man to tell her what to do. Her stubbornness is border line prideful at times, and this is also a fault of mine. I have been told many times that I need to learn how accept that I can’t do everything by myself. It makes me annoyed, angry and more determined to do so even though I know it’s the truth. Like Amelia, I like to think I can do everything only to find myself burned out and very grateful for the help I do end up receiving.

Watching Amelia let go and accept help from Cam, her sisters, and Merripen was so nice to see.

Did I mention she was fierce?

Forgive me if I’m less than impressed by your authority Leo. Perhaps you should practice on someone else.

Burn.

I also loved the entire relationship between the siblings. Leo and Amelia’s fights reminded me of my fights with my brother. They love each other, but are so ready to strangle the other at a moments notice. The younger sisters were also a source of entertainment particularly Bea. I just found myself smiling every time she was around.

“Beatrix,” she said after Win had finished a chapter, “why in heaven’s name would you cheat at solitaire? You’re playing against yourself.” “Then there’s no one to object when I cheat.”

I perhaps am also known to do this from time to time Shh..

Then there is the romance which is so well done. I recount what I said earlier about how much I don’t like lovey dovey stuff. The romance here has that, but it’s not overbearing. It’s sweet and does take it’s time to blossom into something real and amazing. Cam is swoon worthy with his honey colored skin and hazel eyes, but he also has a big heart, and I was rooting for him and Amelia the whole time.

There is some great gypsy, or I should say Romany lore sprinkled throughout the book which I found fascinating. I’ve always been intrigued by their culture and enjoyed catching glimpses of it here.

I’m so happy to have found these book(again thanks awesome friends) because now I know how enjoyable HR can be!

My only complaint is the beginning was a bit slow to draw me in, but I was 100% invested in the characters and near the end I didn’t want to say goodbye. Lucky for me this is the first in a series, so off to see what happens to the crazy Hathaways in Seduce Me at Sunrise!

Leave a Reply

