Book Thoughts: American Malewhore in Tokyo

tok

 

American Malewhore in Tokyo by John Box

Your enjoyment of this book is dependent on your sense of humor.

To give you an idea reading this was similar to watching “The Hangover.”Not because of plot, but their humor is similar. It’s over the top, it’s not afraid to go there. To be honest, it’s not exactly my sense of humor. However, I was surprised to find just how many chuckles this book got out of me.

Because this book is 95% humor, and as I’ve mentioned not exactly mine. I was sure I was going to DNF this at about 20%. But, because I’m stubborn about books, I kept going, and I’m glad. I was rewarded with a Japan I had never seen or read about.

As someone who has never been to Japan, but hopes to one day make it there, I appreciated the glimpses into its night life and culture. The Daruma dolls where interesting to learn about, and now I want some. I love Japanese food, and the descriptions had my mouth watering.

John Box/Piston Honda was not a likable character, but towards the end, like an annoying little cousin, he sort of grew on me. Though I wouldn’t be voluntarily hanging out with him mind you, I didn’t hate him as much as I did in the beginning. He says, then thinks later,and several times he had me going,

sho

My feminism had to calm down a few times.

There isn’t a whole lot of sex as you would think going off the title. There is of course a lot references, innuendoes and the like. Language is another thing I should mention for those of you who might have a problem with that.

Overall, a light easy read, and I would recommend it to people who enjoy bathroom and slapstick humor.

I received a copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

