Graphic Novels Book Haul

graphic novels

 

I’ve been meaning to get more into Graphic novels and Manga, but I’ve been singing that tune for awhile now, so on my last trip to the library I decided to bite the bullet and check some out. I went armed with a list of  recommendations, which are the three you see in the picture above.

1) The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume 1 by Alan Moor, Kevin O’Neill, Ben Dimagmali, and Bill Oakley

From what I gathered, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen takes place in the later half of Victorian Era London and it follows the adventures of well Extraordinary Gentlemen and (Women) who are also  prominent figures in Victorian literary works. For example, we have Mina Murray and Mr. Edward Hyde and Dr. Henry Jekyll, to name a few. More reasons to nerd out. I can’t wait to dive into this.

2)  Saga Volume 1 by Brian K.Vaughan and Fiona Staples

I’ve already started issue 1 of this and it definitely wet my appetite for more. Saga is an unconventional love story between two waring soldiers. They and their newborn baby are on the run from a bunch of different people.  I’ve read nothing but good things about this one, and I can just tell I’m in for some thrills.

3)Y  The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan, Pia Guerra, José Marzán, Jr

Don’t know much about this one, but it’s about Yorick Brown who becomes  the last man on Earth after a mysterious plague has wiped the rest out.  He now is on the run from every female faction that wants him for their own agendas.  Sounds like all kinds of hilariousness and epic adventures.

I’m very excited to sink into these. Have any of you guys read these? Let me know me what your thoughts on them are if you have.   As I said I’m very new to the world of Graphic novels/Manga and would love any recommendations!

 

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novels Book Haul

Leave a Reply

