Book Thoughts: Mistborn

Mist

“Belief isn’t simply a thing for fair times and bright days, I think. What is belief—what is faith—if you don’t continue in it after failure?”

The Final Empire is ruled with an iron fist by the Lord Ruler. A tyrant who also happens to be immortal. He has ruled the Final Empire for thousands of years and has successfully crushed every rebellion by the Skaa. The Skaa are the oppressed peasant caste. Most of the Skaa have given up all hope of ever being free. However, a new rebellion is in the works. A smarter and well planned rebellion complete with a smart and innovative crew. Word of this rebellion begins to reach the furthest corners of the Final Empire and hesitantly but surely the skaa begin their uprising.

Mistborn is my first Brandon Sanderson book, and it did not disappoint. Sanderson has created a cast of characters I that I grew to love. They’re far from perfect, but they’re loyalty and determination to beat the Lord Ruler made me love them. They also happened to make me laugh quite a bit which always wins points with me.

Kelsier, the mastermind behind the plan is everything a leader should be. He’s fair, smart, and kind. He knows how to keep his cool and only loses it when he’s been pushed beyond endurance. And when he does lose his cool, it’s in epic proportions.

“He threw it open letting in the mist, then glanced back at the crew with eyes as hard as inquisitor’s spikes.”They hit me where it couldn’t have hurt worse. I’m going to do likewise.

There is nothing I love more than badass complex female characters. Vin has had it rough. She’s grown up on the streets fitting in wherever she can and surviving by pure chance. As a result, trust doesn’t come easy to her, not for herself or others. I enjoyed watching her learn her powers kick ass, form real friendships, and gain some self confidence.She isn’t the most exciting female character I’ve ever read, but she’s one of most honest and endearing.

Sanderson’s has weaved a truly intricate world complete with a multiple cultures and a unique magic system. The plot took a bit to take off for me, but I attribute that to the heavy world building. Once the scheming was over, and the crew’s plan starting to be executed, the plot picked up and thickened and held my interest till the very gratifying end.

Most of the issues are wrapped up nicely, but Mistborn is the first in a trilogy, so I know there is more to come, and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

