Book Thoughts: I Shall Not Be Moved

I shall

 

She muttered, lifting her head a nod toward freedom,
I shall not, I shall not be moved.

A wonderful collection of poems that follow the struggle of being oppressed, colored, female, in love etc.Many of the poems look  to the past, while thinking of the future. I am a very nostalgic person, and I loved that. And of course her way of stringing words together, her rhymes, tone, and beats are superb.

Some of my favorites:

Human Family

Mirror Twins are different
although their features jibe,
and lovers think quite different thoughts
while lying side by side.

Is Love

Midwives and winding sheets
know birthing is hard
and dying is mean
and living’s a trial in between.

Our Grandmothers

However I am perceived and deceived,
however my ignorance and conceits
lay aside your fears that I will be undone,

for I shall not be moved.

They ask why

A certain person wondered why
I wait all week for you.
I didn’t have the words for you,
I didn’t have the words to describe just what you do.
I said you had the motion
of the ocean in your walk,
and when you solve my riddles
you don’t even have to talk.

There are plenty of other really great poems in this collection, these are just some of my favorite ones. It’s a shame that Maya Angelou is no longer with us, but thankfully we still have her poems and novels.

If you’re into poetry I highly recommend his one.

Leave a Reply

