Top 5 July Reads

I’m going to try and do a wrap up of sorts post  at the end of the each  month.However, instead of listing all the books I read this month, I will share my top 5 favorites, and I’ll link their  reviews in case you’re interested.

July was a good reading month especially considering I started the month falling into a potential reading slump. Thankfully it didn’t take root, and I was able to enjoy these  fantastic books.

 

Mgic Burn  Review 

Magic Burns:Book 2 in The Kate Daniels series  by Ilona Andrews

This got me over the reading slump I was in danger of falling in at the beginning of the month. Although I’m only showing you  this one (book 2), I really mean the entire series up to book 4. I am trying to pace myself with this series, and so far I’m doing a great job! I’ll give you a  brief synopsis. Shape-shifters, magic, vamps, and a badass MC with a sense of humor. Talking about them is tempting me to pick up book 5, so I’lll stop, but nothing should stop you from picking Magic Bites (Book 1) up.

I shall  Review 

I Shall Not Be Moved by Maya Angelou.

This is a small but powerful poetry collection. It covers everything that Angelou is known for. Beautiful verses that range from love, racism, history, oppression and empowerment.

Y-

Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan (Vol 3-4)

I didn’t write a review for these, so I’ll do a brief spoiler free review of Volumes 2-4.  Y:The Last Man follows the adventures of Yorick and his monkey who becomes the last  males on Earth after a plague wipes all the rest out. This comic is hilarious. It’s witty and good with the word play. I read these each in about an hour, and I wanted more. Our protagonist Yorick gets into one crazy shenanigan after the other. All he wants to do is  find the woman he loves. Unfortunately, every women on Earth wants to find him, and either hail him as the salvation for the human race, or make his species extinct once and for all.

The Killing Moon Review to come.

The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin

I already wrote a review for this one  which is already posted on my Goodreads if you want to go check it out, and if not I’ll have it up on Monday here. Anywho, I don’t want to say too much since I already wrote an entire review. However, I will say if you love fantasy,  and you are looking for something a little different, then I highly recommend this one. It has a unique setting and magical system plus great characters. I highly recommend it.

The Arrival Review

The Arrival by Shaun Tan

I’ve already said it, but it needs saying again, this is the most beautiful graphic novel I’ve ever seen. The images and the story are just incredible. It’s a story told entirely in images, so it needs no translation. This was such a treat, and I have can’t praise this enough. Seriously go get it!

 

What were your favorite reads in July?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 July Reads

Leave a Reply

