WWW Wednesdays 7/6/14

WWW. Wednesdays is a meme hosted by Should Be Reading.  To participate you have to answer the following three questions.

• What are you currently reading?

• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers:

What are you currently reading?

The Barefott queen    The Barefoot Queen by Ildefonso Falcones

This is my main squeeze read at the moment. It’s a historical fiction novel that is set in Spain during the 1700s. It follows the life of two women: one a gypsy the other a freed slave. So far I’m enjoying the writing and the characters,  but I would like the story to pick up the pace a bit.

 

What did you recently finish? 

Y-the Last Man  Y:The Last Man Volumes 5-10 by Brian K. Vaughan

I binge read the last 5 volumes in this comic series, and it was fantastic.It’s a post apocalyptic/ sci-fi tale about  a plague that wipes out all the males on the planet except for Yorick Brown, and his pet monkey.   It’s not only hilarious, but insightful. It questions gender roles, technology, love, and society. I  highly recommend this series

What do you think you’ll read next? 

THe girl  The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

I am going to be perfectly honest and tell you that I have no idea what this is about. I’m reading it with one of my friends though, and she’s already started it and has good things to say so far. I think, but again I’m not sure, that this is about zombies? Don’t know but I guess I’ll find out.

What have you guys reading, have read, or will be reading?

Leave your links here and at Should be Reading’s original post.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays 7/6/14

  1. I’ve heard that The Girl With All The Gifts is great–but that you should go into it with no preconceived notions–so I guess you’re on the right track with it!

  2. The Barefoot Queen sounds really interesting, and I always love stories set in Spain! A shame it’s a bit slow though… And I’ve heard great things about The Girl With All The Gifts!
    Here’s mine. 😀

  3. The Girl with all the Gifts is on my to read list too. Yeah, I’m pretty sure there are zombies, but I’m told this isn’t a traditional zombie book.

    I just started Perfection another Netgalley book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

