Dusting off the Shelf-Read-a-Thon Update

dusting-off-the-shelf-read-a-thon-graphic1

Yes, I am still participating in this. Failing, but I am still going. Who knew so many unexpected things can happen in the span of two weeks, such as,  birthday parties, going away parties, house renovations that temporarily leave you homeless,  job interviews, and impromptu vacations.  The latter of which I am extremely grateful to because I was able to finish three books this weekend, (two of my read-a-thon picks) and I also made sufficient dents on a few others. So, with a little bit of days I have left, I am determined to finish my last three! I know I can I know I can…

Updates:

I finished The Painted Veil by W Somerset Maugham

THe Painted

This completed the book written before 2010 challenge. This was first published in 1925.

Thoughts: When you hate the MC, but love everything else. This is a classic case of that. Review of this will be coming sometime this week, but for now all I have to say is it’s heavy and infuriating, but I enjoyed it immensely.

I also finished The Bronze Bow by  Elizabeth George Speare.

The Bonze Bow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This completes the books set in the past challenge. This is set in ancient Israel during the Roman conquest.

Thoughts: This has the opposite effect of The Painted Veil. Hating the MC and as result not liking the book. On the plus side, I loved the setting and some of the secondary characters, but that’s about it.  Review of this will also be coming.

Hope you all had great weekends. If you’re also participating in the read-a-thon, how is it going for you?

2 thoughts on “Dusting off the Shelf-Read-a-Thon Update

  1. That’s exactly how I feel. Who knew so much could happen in two weeks? I read one book towards the read a thon, that’s something at least. Sounds like you’ve had a crazy month as well. I hope things calm down for you. I’m glad your vacation was nice. You can do it! Good luck!

    • Haha right?! I started the read-a-thon super excited and ready to knock these books out, and then all this crazy stuff started happening lol.
      Things are relatively calm now, and I hope they stay that way. Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

