Musing Mondays (8/18/2014

Musing Mondays is meme hosted by Should Be Reading. It asks you to muse about one bookish question a week. To participate, just go to their original post, pick you question, write your blog post, and link it to their original post.

My musing:

Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

Gunmetal

Gunmetal Magic( Kate Daniels book  5.5)  by Ilona Andrews

I’m currently back on the Kate Daniels books. After finishing Magic Slays last night, I immediately picked up book 5.5. I think I did pretty well in restraining myself from gobbling these in one bite. Whether I’m going to be able to continue the restraint for the rest of the series is another matter.

Gunmetal is an in between book. It takes place between books 5 and 6, and it’s narrated by Andrea Nash, Kate’s best friend. It’s not necessary to read it, but if you’re currently obsessed with everything Kate Daniels, then it’s highly recommend.  It includes some side stories,  some of our favorite new characters such as Ascanio, and some of our old favorites like Raphael. Plus there are some novellas involving Kate (I think) in the end.

There isn’t much I can say without giving spoilers, but I can say that I’m very much enjoying this one. I typically don’t care for spin offs or novellas told from other characters’ perspectives, but Ilona Andrews’ world and characters are all so amazing that it’s such a treat to spend any amount of time with them. Andrea is every bit as badass and hilarious as Kate.

Highly recommend starting these if you haven’t.

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (8/18/2014

    • It’s rare for me to actually marathon a series unless I’m really enjoying it, and this one has been such a challenge to hold off on lol. But it’s been three days, and I haven’t touched the next book so go me!

Leave a Reply

