August Wrap Up 2014

 

The PushmanY-the Last ManTHe PaintedBornThe Bonze BowTHe girlThe Bird EaterMada BThe Barefott queenMagic SlaysGunmetalThe tentSweet ToothtHE Shadowed Sun

 

August was a semi- OK reading month. It feels like I didn’t do much reading, but looking at my list I did. How weird. Maybe because there  were many hits and misses, or because this month in general was just very crazy for me. It’s was such a weird back and forth month, and it really threw me off in many things.   But, I’m finally home and slowly settling  into my new routine, and I hope to hit September with a vengeance!

Books Read in August:

Bolded titles were my favorites.

1. The Pushman and Other Stories by Yoshiro Tatstumi (Three starts on GoodReads)

2. Y:The Last Man  Comic Series by Brian K. Vaughan  ( Loved it. Click for thoughts)

3) The Painted Veil by W Somsert Maugham (A very haunting read. Click for thoughts)

4) Born Palestinian Born Black by Suheir Hammad. (Re-read and  it just as lovely the second time around. Click for thoughts)

5) The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth by George Speare  (Gave it three starts on Goodreads)

6) The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Corey ( One of those really difficult books to review, so I keep putting off, but I will review it promise.)

7) The Bird Eater by Anlia Ahlborn (Not what I was expecting, but it was decent. Click for thoughts)

8) Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert ( Did not like at all.)

9) The Barefoot Queen by Ildeonfoso  Falcones (I did like it, but I had some issues with it. Thoughts will be posted closer to the book’s publication date.)

10) Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews (Loved it. Will post thoughts soon.)

11) Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews. (I’m sounding like a broken record when it comes IA, but I loved it!)

12) The Tent by Kealan Patrick Burke  (Enjoyed it tons! Click for thoughts)

13) Sweet Tooth Volume 1: Out of the Deep Woods. by Jeff Lemire ( Great start to a series. Click for thoughts)

14) The Shadowed Sun by N.K. Jemisin ( Awesome sequel! Thoughts will be posted some time this week)

How was August for you guys, and what were your  favorites reads?

13 thoughts on “August Wrap Up 2014

  1. The Painted Veil, The Girl With All The Gifts and The Tent are on my TBR list as well! You definitely read way more books than I did in August. 😉 Good luck with your reading in September!

  2. My best reads for August, and definitely in my top five for the entire year, are City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett, and The Twelve Children of Paris by Tim Willocks.

  3. The Girl with all the Gifts is on my to read list now! You did much better than I did in August. I only read eight books last month. Ah well, I hope to do better this month. Good luck with your reading choices.

  4. I’ve heard great things about The Girl with all the Gifts. I know how difficult it can be to summarize and review certain books–good luck! I’ll be looking forward to your finished review.

Leave a Reply

