Unfinished Books Series Part 1

I have a very short attention span which is why it takes me ages to do simple things such as, write a paragraph, pick out a shirt to wear, or finish book series. The other day I was browsing my Goodreads “to-read” shelf, and I was embarrassed by the number of series I’ve started and not finished. Excluding series I haven’t finished because I either didn’t like the first book, or I’m waiting on the release of the next book, the number of books I’ve left hanging isn’t pretty.

In many cases it’s not that I don’t like these books, it’s simply that my short attention span immediately wants to jump on the next. My mentality goes a little something like this, “That was awesome! Time to find somethings just as awesome!” When it should be, “That was awesome. Time to pick up the book 2.” This rarely happens, however.

The only time I ever binge read a series is when I’m overcome with obsession, or when I’m BRing. To counteract this, I’m setting some challenges for myself.

1) Is to finish my unread series. (This is crucial)
2) I will not start anymore series until I finish a series.

To keep myself honest, I will write the embarrassingly long list of books I have yet to finish right here. I will make updates posts when I finish the series, and maybe to a feature post of how I like the books overall. Right now, I’m just running with this, so we’ll see how it goes. The important thing is to FINISH THE BOOKS!!

Unfinished book series:

The First Law by Joe Abercrombie (Currently Reading)

Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews (Currently Reading)

The Timmy Quinn Sereis by Kealan Patrick Burke (Currently Reading)

The Gentlemen Bastard Series by Scott Lynch (Series is still ongoing, but I haven’t read the 3rd book)

The Final Empire Series by Brandon Sanderson

The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rise

Harlem Cycle by Chester Himes

The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan

The Dublin Murder Squad by Tana French (Series is still ongoing, but I haven’t read books 4 and 5)

Unwind by Neil Shusterman

A Song of Ice and Fire by G.R.R Martin (Ongoing, but I haven’t read books 4 and 5)

Night Huntress Series by Jeaniene Frost

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan ( Waiting on the release of Volume 4)

Robert Langdon by Dan Brown

Obernewtryn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody

The Cemetery of Forgotten Books by Carlos Ruiz Zafron

Slains by Susanna Kearsley

Lumatere Chronicles  by Melina Marchetta

Sweet Tooth by Jeff Lemire (Ongoing. I have only read Volume 1)

Dust Lands by Moira Young

The Mist of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (Due to recent developments I’m not sure if I’ll continue with these. We’ll see)

Penryn and The End of Days by Susan Ee (Ongoing, but I’ve only read book 1)

The Original Sinners by Tiffany Reisz (Kind of iffy still on this one)

Books that I’ve finished up to their unreleased title:

Cainsville by Kelley Armstrong

The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning

The Ethical Vampire Series by Susan Hubbard

The Sea Beggars by Paul Kearney ( Seriously publishers get your act together)

The King Killer Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss

 

How many unfinished series do you guys have? Any of mine on your list?

14 thoughts on “Unfinished Books Series Part 1

    • Honestly, it’s been so long since I’ve read them that so many of the details are fuzzy, but I do remember loving books 1-5. It does start to get a little wordy around 5 though, and 6 was kind of iffy for me (I think) Overall, I do remember enjoying them so I would yes, and I think they’re all finally released, so it would be the perfect time to start them. Book 1 is Obernewtyn. Hope you enjoy them if you do decide to give them a go 🙂

  1. You will make progress! The key to making quick progress on this is read the series that only have two book:) Like Penryn and the End Days. That way you can feel a little better:)

  2. I have this same problem! There are just so many different series that I want to read, but I have about 5 or 6 that I’m in the middle of right now. I just feel so overwhelmed! I finished Black Company and Sword of Truth, which were two big ones, but I still have Malazan Books of the Fallen, and Redwall, as well as some others. So much stuff to read!

    • I know it really is overwhelming! And it’s even more so because every day I come across at least three new series that I immediately want to read, and I have to restrain myself. So many books! Haha good luck finishing your books 🙂

  3. I keep stopping in the middle of books themselves which is even worse! A list like yours is a good idea although I think if I made one I’d get completely overwhelmed! 🙂

    • Haha yes I do that sometimes too when it’s too painful to continue. And, I definitely feel overwhelmed when I look at it, but hopefully it’ll help with getting them read!

  4. Mother of Gods. You make me feel good about my sequels stack -.-

    I made a separate shelf to keep track of all the sequels I have to read on GoodReads, you can try that! It helps. I’m planning to decimate mine this December.

    • Lol. I know I’m terrible.
      That’s a good idea.I love creating shelves on Goodreads, so I’ll definitely be doing that for this. Good luck knocking out those books by December!

  5. I’m the opposite, I have to read the whole series before I go one. (If they’re released) I;d always rather read a series that’s finished than one that’s ongoing. Before starting my blog this was a problem because I rarely went out there to find new authors, I got stuck. The last Percy Jackson comes out in 2 1/2 weeks! At least this way you won’t have to wait to find out what happens.

    • Wait, the Percy Jackson books are still running? Wow I had no idea. I thought they ended with Titan’s Curse. Great. More books to add . lol. And I wish I was more like you. I had the same problem before blogging, but at the same time I think that’s one of the reasons I have so many unfinished books. I always discover more and more, and that’s how the neglect starts. #bookpeopleproblems

      • Yeah, there’s a second series called Heroes of Olympus: The Last Hero, Son of Poseidon, Mark of Athena, House of Hades and soon the Blood of Olympus! They might be even better than the first series!

      • Oh Ok Gotcha. I’ve seen those around, but for some reason I thought they were a separate series. Well, guess I’ll be adding those to the pile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

