September Wrap-Up

EmmaMagic MournsI know whymagic RisesBeforeThe Turtle Boy

 

Harry Potteramong othersThe HidesLast ArgumentConduitsmagic Rises

Books read: 12

September was a decent reading month. I did a few re-reads, wrapped up a series, and  a gazillion years later  I finally completed the Dusting off the shelf read-a-thon. Life has gotten really busy lately which is why I haven’t been reviewing as much. Luckily, I still managed to knock out twelve books this month.

Books read in September: (Bolded titles were my favorites)

Emma by Jane Austen

This was  re-read with my friend Dulce. Not my favorite Austen, but I still like it. I noticed this time around how long winded the story is though.

Magic Mourns by Ilona Andrews

I guess I forgot to post my review  on here, but I wrote one for GoodReads. *facepalm* Here is the link to it on GR, but I’ll probably post it here as well.

I Know why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

This is such an iconic book, and I can’t believe I never read it before. It’s tragic and lovely all at once. Highly Highly recommended.

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews

The 6th book in the Kate Daniels series. This one had a different vibe than the the other books, and  I know a lot of people had problems with this one, but I loved it.

Before They Are Hanged  by Joe Abercrombie

I could have sworn I posted my review on here. Oh well. Here is the link. (Note to self: Get it together)

The Turtle Boy by Kealan Patrick Burke

Thoughts Here.

Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews

I am so sad to admit that this one just didn’t do it for me. Clarification, the ending didn’t do it for me. It was too anticlimactic, and very Breaking Dawn. *ducks* Still, I’m optimistic that the next books will be better.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

My billionth re-read, and it was just as lovely and magical as always.

Among Others  by Jo Walton

Thoughts Here.

The Hides by Kealan Patrick Burke

The sequel to The Turtle Boy. As much as I love Burke’s writing, and stories in general. This series is just not winning me over. My BR buddies and I are optimistic though.

Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie

On a positive note, I wrapped up this seres. However, I didn’t love the conclusion to the series. (This seems to be a theme this month) I loved this series for the characters more than anything, but  all that growth and development they went through just got thrown out the window in the last few chapters. The action was great, and so is the humor. I did a hybrid read with this one,and Steven Pacey is an awesome narrator.

Conduits by Jennifer Loring

Thoughts Here.

How was your reading month? What were your favorite reads?

2 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up

  1. Wow, congrats on a great reading month! Makes my four books look pathetic, I obviously had a hard time reading last month. I’ve been wanting to read the King and a Half trilogy, so I’m sad that the ending isn’t very good. Rereads are great, I have to reread Harry Potter again soon I miss him.

Leave a Reply

