Horror Recommendations

Scary-hallway

 

I think I’m falling into a reading slump, which is never a good think, especially when you want to read all of the scary books people keep recommending. And sure, I can read them some other time during the year, but it’s always funner and better this time of year. *sigh*

Even though I’m currently not doing much reading of the horror (aside from The Shinning), I thought I’d still share a few of my favorite horror reads because Halloween is just  around the corner, and I can’t wait!  Some of these  range from really horrific and gory, to psychological terror, and even sort of mild for you woosies out there.

Horror Recommendations:

  frank  Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. This was one of the first classics I ever read, and I was amazed by how easy it was. Of course I was expecting the pop culture version of Frankenstein, but I loved what I got instead. Totally morbid and creepy.

Dracula Dracula by Bram Stroker. All I can really say  is that Dracula is a vamp done right.

Perfume Perfume by Patrick Süskind. I’ve talked a bit about this one before. Basically if you’re a fan of serial killers who are disturbingly fascinating, then this is one if for you. Plus the writing is fantastic.

Salem's Lot Salem’s  Lot by Stephen King. My first King, and wow what an introduction! I’ve always loved vampires and this was no let down. Not that I’ve even touched the surface of King’s work, but this one is still my favorite.

Lege  I am Legend by Richard Matheson. You might be sensing a theme here, but what can I say I love vamps! I love them so much that I have nightmares about them. Awhile back I wrote a review  about this one, but long story short. Creepy vampires with brains what!!

   Conduits Conduits by  Jennifer Loring. I recently read and reviewed this one not too long ago.  It had a very American Horror Story Asylum feel to it, and  completely messed with mind, and I loved it!

The tent The Tent by Kealan Patrick Burke. Review here. A novella I wish had been a full length story. It also made me hesitant to ever go camping. Not that I needed much hesitation in the first place, but still.

Kin  Kin by Kealan Patrick Burke. Review Here. By far the goriest book I’ve ever read. Seriously do not eat anything while reading. It makes me shudder every time I think about it.

 

Have you read any of these? I’m a weirdo who loves getting scared,  so if you have any recs please send them my way.

5 thoughts on “Horror Recommendations

  1. I’ve been struggling with reading since August. I wanted to find a Halloween book too, but I have so many Arcs from Netgalley to read. I haven’t read any of these, but I am a bit of a horror wimp. I own I am Legend, but I didn’t like the movie so I’m hesitant to read it. Vampires have always been my favorite monsters too. (when they aren’t love interests) I liked Skulduggery Pleasant, it’s sort of horror for middle grade. 😉

    • Yeah I think when you have an overwhelming number of books to read it definitely adds to the slump. That’s why I’m always hesitant to request tons of arcs. But it also happens with library books, so I think that’s what’s going on here. I am Legend is totally different from the movie. The only thing that’s the same is the MC’s name lol. Skulduggery has been on my list for a while. I didn’t know it was horror though!

      • I consider it fantasy horror, but it’s middle grade so I can stand the scaryness. Yeah my slump made me accumulate arcs and I think you’re right having to read them isn’t helping.

Leave a Reply

