Best of July 2015

July was an up and down month for me.  I dnfed a lot, but still  managed to finish thirteen books. I got into a fitness kick, which meant I spent most of the month with achy muscles. I went on a few much needed weekend getaways, and I discovered some yummy new foods. Can’t believe August is already here. One more month till this dreadful season is over. Cheers!

Books:

I started the month off with some much needed fun time reads, and that is exactly what I got with Ms. Marvel.
Mz. Marvel Ms. Marvel is all the rage on BookRiot, and since I’m such a noob to comics,  I tend to trust those peeps on mostly all of their comic recommendations.I enjoyed it. I thought it was light and funny and very necessary.

Jumping from light and fun, to dark depressing, I saw my self in Morrison land. God Help The Child, more like God help Me.

God HelpThis one was not an easy one to swallow. Toni Morrison’s writing is honest and despite the bleakness of her content, it’s a stark reminder to never forget  the world we live in.  God Help the Child will make you cringe and cry, and I  don’t know if that works for a recommendation, but there you go.

Also, check out this really great conversation between her and Farah Jasmine Griffin. 

The SecThe Secret In Their Eyes left me with a book hangover. It haunts you long after you finish it. It’s a glimpse into the dark side of Argentina’s history as well as the dark side of humans. The novel is very contemplative and  nostalgic, yet oddly uplifting. Its ending it not at all what you would expect, and that was part of its charm. Really lovely and melancholic.

Then I feel in a  Charley Davidson hole, and I’m just now resurfacing.

Char 1 Char 2Char 3Char 4Char 5Sixth GraveSeventh GraveChar 8

 

The Charley Davidson series is an ongoing urban fantasy series centering around Charley Davidson a.k.a. the grim reaper. It follows her exploits as a P.I. for both the living and the dead in Albuquerque,  New Mexico, her addiction to mocha lattes, and her complicated relationship with Reyes Farrow, the son of Satan.  It’s hilarious. I haven’t had this much fun with a series in too long, maybe since The Fever Series, and you all know how much I adore those. There are currently 8 books out and a novella. I’m thinking of doing a series spotlight for these because I want to talk about them a bit more. While there is mostly love for these, I do have some issues with last book, but I still highly recommend them with a caveat:  clear your schedule before starting.

Also, July was a really great writing month. I’ve been forcing myself to write at least 30 minutes a day, and it hasn’t been easy, but I’m getting it done!

Since coming back to blogging, I’ve been taking a different approach, one that isn’t so concentrated on reviews, and I’m finding myself enjoying this again. I’m still trying to find what works for me, and I know that I mostly want to focus on books and literature, but I want room to breath and talk about other stuff too. Hopefully you’ll still stick around 🙂

What was your July like?

9 thoughts on “Best of July 2015

  1. I’m glad you’re getting back into blogging. I used to always read comic books, but it’s been a few years now. I read the first Charlie Davidson book, but I couldn’t stand the ‘romance’. I’m glad you enjoyed them. Maybe I should try again.

Leave a Reply

