Weekend Reads.

Decompressing from a really busy weekend with some tea and catching up on all the post I missed.  I went away for the weekend again, and had to rush back to L.A. Sunday for an event.  The days away were fun, and the event was  fantastic,  traffic, however, was not. As any booknerd is prone to do, I made good usage of my time in traffic by listening to audio books! I made a good dent in  Just Kids by Patti Smith.

Just KidsI’ve heard nothing but lovely things about this, and so far I agree with all of them. Memoir is usually hit or miss with me, and it looks like this one is going to be a hit. Her writing is so lovely. 

EmberThen I finished An Ember in the Ashes  by Sabaa Tahir. This is a YA fantasy novel with a bit of a desert setting. It took me by surprise, and I really enjoyed it. I’ve burned myself out a bit on fantasy this past year, especially YA fantasy, but reading this was perfect. It follows Laia and Elias, two teens who live very different lives. One has power and privilege, the other has poverty and fear.If you think you know where this is going, you’re wrong.  It was different, perfectly paced, and intriguing.

Manazuru Lastly, I finished Manazuru by Hiromi Kawakami today during my lunch break at work. I started Saturday morning, and haven’t really been able put it down.  It’s official, Hiromi Kawakami is going to be my new obsession. I suspected as much after finishing The Briefcase a few months ago. Once again, she has woven a simple yet intricate tale of love, obsession, loneliness, and the mundane. Kei, the protagonist of Manazuru, is obsessed with the disappearance of her husband. Left alone with her thirteen year old daughter, she is still unable to let go. She travels to  Manazuru, a beach town that she suspects is pivotal in her husband’s disappearance. As you read the novel, you’re caught up in the tiny details of Kei’s life, and within those details, you can’t help but notice that not everything is as it seems.

I did pretty good for a busy weekend. How was your weekend, and what did you read?

10 thoughts on “Weekend Reads.

  1. I’ve heard Manazuru is quite good, gotta check it out some time. I was too busy writing this weekend to read, which made me pout, but I’m almost there now! Which means more time for reading.

    • Yes, it’s really good! Our roles are reversed. I wish I had a bit more time for writing this weekend, but now that I knocked out a few books, I just might. Hope you find time to read 🙂

  2. Just Kids is truly wonderful and I look forward to reading your review of it once you finish! Manazuru sounds intriguing and I like the simplicity of the cover, so I will keep an eye out for it!

    • Yay another good word for Just Kids! I’m glad I decided on it. Yes, the cover is a very accurate representation of the book. Very simple, but in the best way. Hope you enjoy it if you do pick it up 🙂

  3. It’s nice to see a fantasy book on your list again. I’ve been meaning to read An Ember, but I was afraid it would be depressing. I’m glad you liked it. I’ve been reading One Good Dragon Deserves Another. I really love this series!

    • Yes, that’s the UK title (Don’t know why the changed it) It’s different from Strange weather, but it has similarities, so I think you’d like this one too!

Leave a Reply

