I’m back and Best of July!

I’m back! Hope you have all been well. The heat was not my friend, but I didn’t let that stop me. I had a blast. If you’re new here, or just don’t remember me, or where I went. I went to Italy a few weeks back. I came home to a lot of changes, finishing up my summer classes,( I aced both 🙂 ) and a stubborn cold.

A teaser of my Italy recap post:

 

IMG_2298

IMG_2290

 

Stay tuned for that post. Suffice to say, Italy is great country so much history, friendly people, and delicious food. Also, very bookish.

 

As you can imagine, I packed my suitcase with books, and managed to only finish one, but man was it a good on!

 

Elena
The Days of Abandonment by Elena Ferrante

Elena Ferrante can write. Angry, happy, confused, or sad, she captures human emotion to the letter. Her characters are authentic, and chances are you can always find yourself in them. The Days of Abandonment follows Olga in the days after her husband decides to leave her. Olga is distraught, angry, and sad. The beginning of her story depicts her trying to be strong as she attempts to hold  it together for herself, and her two children. She wants to find the reason why her husband left, and if there is anything she can do to bring him back to her. When she discovers he’s taken up with a younger girl, she loses it, and throws decorum out of the window.

 

“I don’t give a shit about prissiness. You wounded me, you are destroying me, and I’m supposed to speak like a good, well-brought-up wife? Fuck you! What words am I supposed to use for what you’ve done to me, for what you’re doing to me? What words should I use for what you’re doing with that woman! Let’s talk about it! Do you lick her cunt? Do you stick it in her ass? Do you do all the things you never did with me? Tell me! Because I see you! With these eyes I see everything you do together, I see it a hundred thousand times, I see it night and day, eyes open and eyes closed!”

Yes, girl! Even though I have never been in Olga’s shoes, I felt such fulfillment in her anger, and so glad that Ferrante didn’t hold back on it. Olga spends the rest of the novel piecing herself back together, and relearning how to be her own woman again.  The book has its quirky moments that added a little lightness to this otherwise  bleak story. This is a small book, but it packs a big punch. If you want an intimate look at a woman’s journey back to herself, I highly suggest picking this one up.

I’m getting old because it took much longer than I care to admit to recover from this trip. Between catching up on sleep and work, I haven’t been all that productive in little else besides watching TV shows.  I have a few weeks of relaxation before I start my fall semester, so I am enjoying my lazy time as much as possible.

Read anything good lately? Also, I’ve started a listy accent. Come find me  @Bibliosa.

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “I’m back and Best of July!

  1. Welcome back 🙂

    I’ve only read My Brilliant Friend by Ferrante, but I want to finish the quartet and now this is definitely added to the TBR too – sounds great!

    Looking forward to the Italy post…

    • Thanks you! It’s different from the quartet, but it explores similar themes. And Ferrante is just so good at writing about women. I hope you enjoy this one 🙂

  2. I’ve just ordered this Ferrante and can’t wait to read it. I enjoyed the tetralogy, but looking forward to trying her other works.

    I’m on a reading trip around the world with #WITMonth and so far the outstanding favourite has to be Simone Schwarz-Bart’s The Bridge of Beyond, stunning prose and for me a book I wanted to both never put down and at the same time savour slowly. Highly recommended.

    • I have definitely caught the Ferrante fever! I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did. I was going to space out reading her other books, but since it’s women in translation month, I caved and ordered Troubling Love and The Lost Daughter. Figured there is no better time but August to binge on her books. I’ve been seeing The Bridge of Beyond, and I will definitely add it to list for the month. Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  3. Haven’t read Ferrante yet! But I have heard everyone praise her book My Brilliant Friend so I am kind of excited about getting her books.

    Italy! ❤ I love Italy! Will keep an eye out for your post about your trip! 🙂 Where in Italy where you traveling?

    • I love Ferrante. I’m trying to pace myself with her books, but I just want to binge therm all. Haha. I went to Venice, Florence, and Rome. It was a blast 🙂

Leave a Reply

